Diablo 4 Latest Updates: Launch Date, Story, Classes, and More

diablo 4 updates

Diablo fans were extremely disappointed when Blizzard announced only the Diablo Immortal at BlizzCon 2018. In 2019, however, Diablo 4 was finally confirmed.

Blizzard released since then the cinematic and gameplay trailers along with some details about the playable classes, the world map, monsters, and more. Developers are pretty much open about Diablo 4’s progress. Here are the latest details and other things that you need to know. 

Diablo 4 Expected Launch Date

Diablo 4 was officially confirmed in November 2019, and the developers have offered updates since this year on the development process. 

Given all the details we gathered so far, we shouldn’t get our hopes too high for Diablo 4. A 2020 launch event is impossible. As for a 2021 release, well, as optimistic as it might seem now, it’s still uncertain. 

When asked about the launch date following the official announcement, Luis Barriga, the game’s director, stated: “A game of this scope takes time; we’re not coming out soon, not even Blizzard soon.”

Diablo 4 Story

Blizzard detailed a basic plotline so that we can have a sneak peek into Diablo 4’s world. The storyline follows Diablo 3 Reaper of Souls expansion events. The world of Sanctuary is still dark, and famine with chaos and strife are everywhere. 

As seen in the cinematic trailer, Lilith has returned to the Sanctuary thanks to a dark blook ritual. We should expect her to be the biggest enemy in Diablo 4. 

You can watch the cinematic and the gameplay trailer below:

Diablo 4 World Map

Diablo 4 will feature an open-world map, allowing players to move between the five regions, Scosglen, Kehjistan, Hawezar, the Fractured Peaks, and the Dry Steppes. 

The overall map appears to be fixed, but there are some randomized dungeons. Even if players are in a shared world, Diablo 4 is not an MMO. For instance, when entering dungeons, players will be limited to either being alone or with their established team. 

Specific PvP areas will also be present on the map, but players will need to opt-in to PvP if they want to join. 

Diablo 4 Classes and Monsters

Diablo 4 will have three classes, barbarian, sorceress, and druid. They were officially announced, and Blizzard confirmed that there would be five playable classes in the final game. 

As for monsters, Diablo 4 will feature whole different creatures. Developers wanted this time to sort them into “families.” So far, we know about the Cannibals, the Drowned, and the Cultists. Other families have a more significant variety of attacks. For instance, the Drowned have five distinct archetypes, such as ranged combat, bruiser, swarmer, melee, and dungeon boss. 

More details and updates should be released soon as Blizzard wants to keep us updated as much as possible. 

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *